Showing posts with label Computer Security. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Computer Security. Show all posts

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Top 10 Symptoms That Your PC May Be Infected

How do you know if your computer has a virus, a worm, a trojan horse infection, spyware, malware, crimeware or any of the other known types of infection? Obviously, everyone's PC is different, so it is up to each person to keep an eye on the known and documented causes.
Although not all of the following symptoms will necessarily indicate your PC has an infection, if you note more than just one of them happening at the same time, there is a high probability and you would be advised to look into it further.
  1. Performance is sluggish now compared to what it was when the computer was new. Unfortunately, there is no single cause; it is likely to be any of the following or a combination of them: virus, worm, spyware, Adware, rootkit (provides remote access to a PC without the user's knowledge).
  2. PC taking longer to boot up. This happens anyway as you load more and more programs, especially if your computer is older and you're trying to run the latest resource hungry applications, but it's worth checking for malware or other infection that has been added to the start-up sequence.
  3. Unexpected shutdowns and restarts. This can be very frustrating if you are doing original work, especially if auto-save is turned off or infrequent. A virus is the most likely cause of this problem.
  4. Your PC freezes up and you can't do anything; the mouse won't move and may be showing the hourglass or equivalent symbol, but it is frozen and even Windows Task Manager won't open. This may be a hardware problem, such as faulty RAM, but can be caused by an infection.
  5. Wrong web page opens. When you type a URL or click on a link, you are taken to a completely different site, possibly one where you receive an offer to buy through an affiliate link (someone trying to get you to buy a product that they receive a commission for the sale) or worse, you are taken to an adult or porn site. If this happens, there's a big chance that spyware is at work here.
  6. Your Homepage or browser settings are changed. This can be from some software you have installed (it is considered unethical installation practice to do this) but it can also be a sign that you have spyware lurking. Spyware at its best is software that puts your eyes in front of an offer to buy a product that your browsing history shows you have an interest in.
  7. Pop-ups appear when you're surfing the net. These can be when you've looked at an offer to buy something, decide not and go to close the page. This isn't an infection; it's known as an OTO - a one time offer to buy a lesser product at a lower price, for example. A pop-up may also be a form of revenue-raising by the website owner, who gets paid for every time they show a product offer for someone else. However, if a pop-up appears when you're not loading a closing or loading a page, it could also be an infection.
  8. Pop-up Alerts Saying You Have An Infection. DON'T click on these; the chances are it is a trojan horse that will spread a virus or attempt to steal personal information from your PC.
  9. Toolbars appear and you didn't install them. These are often installed along with some software you wanted on your system, and unless you are wide-awake during installation and un-tick them, they are loaded in the default installation. Equally, though, malicious toolbars can be installed by malware, so check it out and see.
  10. Emails that you didn't send or posts you didn't make. Isn't it embarrassing when a friend tells you that you sent them a strange message or an email with a virus? There are worms and viruses that will go through your address book and send a copy of itself to all your contacts! Or, if your friends tell you that you've made a post on their wall of a social media site and you didn't make it, do a check for malware.
There are also other obvious signs such as money going missing from your bank account, high phone bills or iTunes usage, for example. It pays to check your balance or usage frequently.
To prevent, and treat if necessary, any of the above make sure you protect your computer and yourself. You can use your operating system's built-in security software if it is good enough, install a standalone security suite or use a combination of programs which together will protect your system and allow you trouble-free computing.

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/6597770

The Hidden Dangers of Image Geo Tagging

What is Image Geo tagging anyways?
In short a geotag is a meta tag embedded into the attributes of a digital image.
Did you know today's smart phones and digital cameras embed hidden data into the photographs you take? The photos you take with your modern smart phone can tell others:
  • Where you live
  • Where you work
  • Where you go to school
  • Where you spend your free time
  • Where your friends or family live
  • When there is nobody home
  • Where you park your car
  • And the list goes on and on and on.....
Now this may not be a big deal if you are taking photographs of yourself or a friend in a public place like Lake Eola in Orlando Fl, Cranes Roost Park in Altamonte Springs Fl or another well known public place. On the other hand if you are taking photos in your home, at your job or any other place you don't want a stranger to know then you probably should continue reading this article.
How does it happen?
When you take a photograph with a smart phone or digital camera, it takes much more than just a photograph. Most of today's smart phones such as the Motorola DROID or the APPLE IPHONE have the ability and do so by default add GeoTags to the photographs you take which include information about the EXACT location where the photograph was taken, what date and time the photograph was taken and this poses a real security threat to consumers.
Let's pretend you take photos of yourself or your family or your friends with your APPLE iPhone, Motorola DROID or another modern smart phone. Now let's pretend you upload those photos to your Facebook, MySpace, a singles website or even email them to somebody you don't know very well.
Sounds pretty normal so far, right?
The hidden danger is anybody with the know-how or technical knowledge if you will can view the hidden data embedded in your photographs and see exactly where the photos were taken, when the photos were taken and much more...
How do you protect yourself?
You can turn off the GPS feature on your smart-phone, but you might still need the GPS feature turned on for GPS navigation. So if you want to protect yourself you would turn the GPS functionality off on your smart phone when you are taking photographs and turn the GPS function back on if you happen to need to use the GPS features in your smartphone.

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/6161668